Dear ol’ alma mater

While everyone is thinking and praying about Tanzania . . .

Thanks to a laptop and a wireless connection, I am able to make a brief post.

After a dreadful flight (stuck overnight in Atlanta), I arrived back in New York and headed up to Morningside Heights and my alma mater, Columbia, where I picked up a copy of the campus paper, the Columbia Daily Spectator (Spec to generations of Columbians). Two things leaped out at me.

First, the main headline:

ANTI-WAR WALKOUT SCHEDULED FOR NOON TODAY

For Columbians over 50, that has to be a case of déja vu all over again.

Second, on turning to the inside, what should I find but a large advertisement for the Episcopal Campus Ministry that reads as follows:

THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH WELCOMES YOU

REGARDLESS OF RACE, GENDER, SEXUAL ORIENTATION OR THE NUMBER OF TIMES YOU’VE BEEN BORN ; )

Further comment would be superfluous, I think . . .

Leave a Reply

