The Morning Prayer of Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow

I had some workmen in the house today, installing a new heating and cooling system, and was asked by one of them to make a copy of a prayer we have on our wall—he wanted to share it with his bible study. So I made a copy and, on reflection, thought I would share it with you.

O Lord,
grant that I may meet the coming day in peace.
Help me in all things
to rely upon Thy Holy Will.
In every hour of the day,
reveal Thy will to me.
Bless my dealings with all who surround me.
Teach me to treat all that comes to me
throughout the day with peace of soul,
and with the firm conviction that Thy will governs all.
In all my deeds and words,
guide my thoughts and feelings.
In unforeseen events, let me not forget
that all are sent by Thee.
Teach me to act firmly and wisely,
without embittering and embarrassing others.
Give me the strength to bear the fatigue
of the coming day with all that it shall bring.
Direct my will.
Teach me to pray.
Pray Thou Thyself in me.
Amen.

Although the prayer may go back to the famous mystic, theologian and spiritual director Archbishop François Fénelon of Cambrai (something I did not know until I looked into it just now), it is attributed in this form to Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow, on whom one can find information here and here and here. Other versions of this prayer, as well as other prayers of Saint Philaret, can be found here and here and here.

Our copy was made by the sisters of Holy Myrrhbearers Monastery in Oswego, New York, whose catalogue is well worth an inspection.

20 Responses to “The Morning Prayer of Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow”

  1. Micah Says:

    Not just Evangelicals, but the whole world (I am a former Roman Catholic) will turn to The Church because Christ’s heavenly presence lives on in her, fully and forever. Here’s a quote taken from Fr. Georges Florovsky’s Limits of the Church in the Church Quarterly Review, 1933. Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow has much to teach modernity about what this fullness might look like:

    “Mark you, I do not presume to call false any Church which believes that Jesus is the Christ. The Christian Church can only be either purely true, confessing the true and saving divine teaching without the false admixtures and pernicious opinions of men, or not purely true, mixing with the true and saving teaching of faith in Christ the false and pernicious opinions of men” (Conversation between a Seeker and a Believer Concerning the Orthodoxy of the Eastern Greco-Russian Church, Moscow 1831, pp.27-29).

    ” ‘You expect now that I should give judgment concerning the other half of present Christianity,’ the Metropolitan said in the concluding conversation, ‘but I just simply look upon them; in part I see how the Head and Lord of the Church heals the many deep wounds of the old serpent in all the parts and limbs of his Body, applying now gentle, now strong, remedies, even fire and iron, in order to soften hardness, to draw out poison, to clean wounds, to separate out malignant growths, to restore spirit and life in the numbed and half-dead members. In this way I attest my faith that, in the end, the power of God will triumph openly over human weakness, good over evil, unity over division, life over death’ ” (ibid. , p.135).

    What more can I say, except “how wonderful!”

    Christ is truly in our midst!

  2. Julia Says:

    I am not, and have never been, a religious person. My mother took me to church (Greek Orthodox) as a child, and I am very happy to have had the experience, but I do not attend any church now. I do believe in God, though, and speak to Him on occasion to ask for help or to thank him for special people or events in my life. While I was serving in the Peace Corps in Mali several years ago, a local Anglican missionary gave me a copy of this prayer (professing an interest in the Orthodox church), and I found it so moving that I put a copy of it next to the door of my little house, and said it every day before walking through that door, stopping at the end of each sentence to think about it and let it sink in. It is something that I treasure in my life, and I have sent it to a number of friends now. I am glad to see that others have also found it so meaningful.

  3. Catherine Todd Says:

    Thank you; this is a beautiful prayer. I found your blog when I was looking up more about St. Philaret, from this wonderful quote below. Looking forward to more. CatherineTodd2 at gmail dot com

    * * * * *

    Our walls of division do not rise all the way to heaven.

    Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow

    * * * * *

  4. Little Macrina Says:

    Thank you for sharing this prayer. Like Micah, I am also a ‘convert’ to Eastern Orthodoxy. I was a student of Christian History and Theology and the more I studied, the more I discovered that church was more than a social group where one “hangs out” with buddies, and it is more than a soapbox for preaching: it it liturgical, it is communal (not individualistic as many Westerners are prone to cling to), it is integral to our participation in Christ’s passion and our living lives that honour God and serve one another. I moved in Anglican and Catholic circles for a few years before, eventually and unexpectedly settling in with the Orthodox church. It was here I found a fine balance of life in the spirit and life in the body, where neither is rejected nor praised above the other, but mutually respected and cultivated by fasting and feasting, prayer, liturgy, social concern, and participating in community life.

    In response to Julia, whether you like it or not, my dear: you have made yourself a “religious person” by regularly repeating St. Philaret’s prayer each morning in the way you do. From your reply above: “I put a copy of it next to the door of my little house, and said it every day before walking through that door, stopping at the end of each sentence to think about it and let it sink in. ” This is a religious act. Religious doesn’t necessarily mean spiritual and doesn’t refer only to people who go to church regularly. I am slightly religious, but more accurately living my Christian faith through various means, including church attendance.

    Thank you, author, for sharing this prayer outside within your own community. It sets my mind aright every morning and I know it will serve others just as well in the future.

    Christ is in our midst.

  5. catherinetodd Says:

    Beautiful, as always. Thanks.

  6. Morning Prayer « Mama loves coffee Says:

    […] of St. Philaret is a strikingly beautiful and beneficial way to start each day. Several online sources suggest that this prayer was originally written by French Roman Catholic Archbishop François […]

  7. Joanna Says:

    Actually, this is the prayer of the Optina Elders. No doubt Met. Philaret learnt it from them. Here is a better translation. I say it every day.

    Grant unto me, O Lord, that with peace of mind I may face all that this new day is to bring. Grant unto me to dedicate myself completely to Thy Holy Will. For every hour of this day, instruct and support me in all things.

    Whatsoever tidings I may receive during the day, do Thou teach me to accept tranquilly, in the firm conviction that all eventualities fulfill Thy Holy Will. Govern Thou my thoughts and feelings in all I do and say.

    When things unforeseen occur , let me not forget that all cometh down from Thee. Teach me to behave sincerely and rationally toward every member of my family, that I may bring confusion and sorrow to none.

    Bestow upon me, my Lord, strength to endure the fatigue of the day, and to bear my part in all its passing events. Guide Thou my will and teach me to pray, to believe, to hope, to suffer, to forgive, and to love.

  8. catherinetodd3 Says:

    Thank you Joanna… your comment and “better translation” brought me back to this blog and this prayer when I needed it most. Gracias to all! Amen…

  9. lawn mower repair edmonton Says:

    hello!,I really like your writing so so much!
    share we keep in touch more approximately your article on AOL?
    I require an expert in this area to unravel my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Taking a look ahead to see you.

  10. are binary options a scam Says:

    A call up choice is definitely an solution which you invest your hard earned dollars within because you feel that the market could rise.

    Using this, the dealers may actually make money in one moment.

    There isn’t any liquidity to help this type of expenditure since you never really very own a great main asset.

  11. Watch Dogs Game Sets\Watchdogsps3\Tier1\Links.Txt%# Says:

    These are really wonderful ideas in on the topic of blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious things here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.

  12. animal hospital reviews Says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog
    that’s both equally educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something which too few men and women are
    speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this in my hunt for something relating to this.

  13. catherinetodd3 Says:

    I love this prayer and am so glad I was reminded of it by the previous commentator (even if it might have been “spam.”). Such a wonderful blessing… thanks again for posting it!

  14. competitor analysis Says:

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will
    be a great author. I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back later on. I
    want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  15. air condition service Says:

    The Goodman brand has a central air conditioning system
    that is perfect for your home — at a refreshingly affordable price.
    Even on the hottest days of the year, you can keep your home cool and comfortable while enjoying low
    energy costs with a high-efficiency Goodman brand air conditioner.

  16. How prayer has helped me, and how I have practiced it. | ipswichrecovery Says:

    […] A pretty cool blog post about this prayer is found at the site, Rather not blog (All things Anglican) […]

  17. click this Says:

    click this

    The Morning Prayer of Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow | Rather Not Blog

  18. binary trading signals Says:

    binary trading signals

    The Morning Prayer of Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow | Rather Not Blog

  19. binary options demo app Says:

    binary options demo app

    The Morning Prayer of Metropolitan Philaret of Moscow | Rather Not Blog

  20. Vannessa Campisi Says:

    Exactly where are your feet? An errant toe to the baseline when retaining the ball will result in an “out of bounds” contact. In the event you journey without the need of dribbling, you’re going to get oneself in a turn over circumstance. Also, when you’re relocating your toes every time a display will be established, you are able to take a demand or pick in an attempt to obtain a bad.

Leave a Reply

