The God Gap

I have been on break lately, as my last post indicated, and intend to continue to post infrequently during Lent. I have, however, been following the political news fairly closely (not, perhaps, the best way to spend Lent, but at least I can say it’s my civic duty).

Regular readers of this blog and of my comments elsewhere have a pretty good idea where my political allegiances lie. However, that is not the reason that I post the following links. Rather, I find them interesting on several levels, and think that you might too, whether you agree or disagree with the opinions expressed. They suggest to me some possibly interesting twists and turns in the political road ahead, whatever one’s point of view.

The New Republic‘s website has several blogs, including one called The Plank. Three posts on a recent event in New York state politics may just spark some reflection. You may find them here and then here and then here.

2 Responses to “The God Gap”

  1. Katherine Says:

    I dunno, IRNS. The idea seems to be to treat Roe v. Wade as a fait accompli and persuade voters that other issues are just more important. One of the posts points out that mainstream Democrats are quite uncomfortable with talking about the moral aspects of the abortion debate. I continue to think that American politics will be severely deformed until Roe is reversed, and the matter returns to state legislatures, where laws are supposed to be made.

    This is a weird election, though. I’m going to be in the position of voting for McCain in the hopes that he will appoint judges who will overturn his signature legislation, McCain-Feingold. Strange.

  2. Craig Goodrich Says:

    I’m with Katherine. Think about the most upright and religious man we’ve elected President in my lifetime — basically I’m sure socially conservative and economically populist (as you described yourself in a post long ago and far away). This was, of course, Jimmy Carter, who came in on the strength of a number of good ideas, zero-based budgeting most notably.

    He was instantly rolled by the Democratic establishment in DC and proved little more than a rubber-stamp for really bad ideas coming out of the Congress and the bureaucracy (which is overwhemingly Democratic). The control of the far Left over the Democrats is as firm and unbreakable as its control over General Convention, tempting as it may be to hope otherwise.

    You mentioned in the same long-ago post that you didn’t see your candidate anywhere. Well, “socially conservative but economically populist” would seem to fit perfectly on one politically-prominent figure, though he’s never, as far as I know, won an election: Pat Buchanan. I’m reading his books at the moment; I disagree with his economics but am strongly attracted by his noninterventionist foreign policy.

    Interestingly, Justin Raimondo, historian of the Old Right and paleolibertarian pundit, who runs the excellent site antiwar.com (and who, unlike the horde of critics of Iraq, is like me genuinely antiwar no matter what regime is in power in DC; we both started writing when Clinton decided to blow up Yugoslavia), surprised his old friends by coming out for Buchanan in 2000.

    In retrospect, I’d be overwhelmed with joy if I could vote for Pat this year. Anyone who thinks that the problem with the government is that the wrong people are running it is misinformed: the problem with government is that there’s too, too, too damn much of it.

Leave a Reply

